Another White Girl Decides to Start a Blog

Do you ever have in-depth conversations with yourself? Do you ever think you should just take a seat, write it down, and get it all out of your system? Then do you ever wonder what would happen if you decided to share it with people? Well, I guess I did which is why I’m starting this whole thing up and why you’re reading it now.

Real talk, I’m a huge introvert. I give myself a ton of social anxiety and tend to feel more comfortable at home with my dog. I ended up spending most of my 20s thinking about things I wanted to do instead of just doing them. The more I thought about it, the more I knew I wanted to change. I hit the big 3-0 last year and at the time of finishing this entry am on the cusp of turning 31 (and about to embark on what I hope to be a pretty badass solo vacation that I’d still love to share with people in some way, which is what’s pushing me to get this started). To reinforce the whole “thinking about doing something instead of going for it” thing, the original version of this said I turned 30 just a few months ago. Why am I dragging my feet so much? I have no idea, but I’m kind of tired of it. 

Since I am an introvert, I don’t know how much I’ll even tell friends and family that I’m writing. I’m not anticipating or necessarily trying to gain a huge following. Stepping out of my comfort zone includes putting myself out there in a series of posts, and I believe I can learn even more about myself if I sit down to put it in writing. Some will be boring. Some may be exciting. My writings will be mostly for myself but if someone else happens to gain something from them, that would be pretty cool too. 

I recently dated someone for a few months and upon him ending things (ugh, gross), he told me he had appreciated my opinion and always thought I had a unique perspective on things. Could he have just been saying that to make me, and therefore himself, feel better since it wasn’t a mutual decision? Sure. But despite the short lived relationship, I still feel like we have respect and care for each other, so I have no reason to think that. If I take the comment to heart, it should really make me feel more confident in sharing my thoughts and stories without worrying about what some others will think.

So this is it. I’m entering a new decade and I refuse to look back on my 30s like I do my 20s. This is the decade I do all the things. I hope you enjoy riding along.

Okay, so I know that was totally vague and while it (hopefully) sounds good in theory, I do have current interests and a general personality. My upcoming trip I hinted at is what’s really pushing me to start this thing, but assuming I stick with it, here’s the short list of topics I’m interested in which may or may not wind up being written about here:

  • Running
  • Outdoors
  • Feminism
  • Relationships
  • Self-reflection/improvement

Talk soon,

Chelsea

Leave a comment